shopify stats


Chapter 7

Virginia's Oldest Continuously-Operating NARFE Chapter--Established 1947


  Upcoming Programs

March 13, 2019     Deborah G. Matthews, a specialist in Elder Law, will help us answer                                  the question "Is Your Legal House in Order?"

April 10, 2019       Captain Brian Ruck from the Fairfax County Police Department will discuss the widely-used 3-component-based protocol developed by the Department of Homeland Security to be used in response to mass attacks.

May  8, 2019         Kim Prothro Williams, an architectural historian from the DC Historic                               Preservation Office will speak on "The Lost Farms and Estates of  Washington, DC".

June 12, 2019       At our luncheon meeting, Susan Trunzo will speak on the origins and history of the flag.  Contact Pat at  703-578-3372 for more information and to make a reservation.


See below for meeting location.


Chapter 7 typically meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 12:30 p.m. at the Walter Reed Community and Senior Center, 2909 16th St South, Arlington, VA  22204..  A social period starts at 12:00 noon. No meetings are held in July and August, and luncheons are usually held at a local restaurant in June and December. The meetings feature notable speakers on a wide range of topics. If you have an idea for a topic or speaker, please let one of the officers know.

The Chapter’s Executive Board meets at 10 a.m. on the third Thursday of the month, except June and July, at Thomas Jefferson Community Center. These meetings are open to Chapter members.

Meetings are cancelled if Arlington Public Schools have an unscheduled closing.

Please read our Newsletter for details about the meetings.

Not a member? Visit or call (800) 627-3394 to join. Or, come to one of our meetings and pick up an application.

Already a member? Want to save on your annual dues? Sign up for dues withholding and save $6 annually. Pick up an application form at the chapter meeting or download the form at Sign in, and under “Resource Library” click on “Dues Withholding”.

Maximizing Benefits for Your Heirs:
Know the Rules and Avoid Costly Mistakes! Presentation by Mark Keen, Certified Financial Planner and Partner at Keen & Pocock at our February, 2014 meeting. He is perhaps best known to NARFE members for his monthly column, Managing Money, which appears in narfe magazine.

FEHBP and Medicare: Coordinating Coverage. Presentation by Tammy Flanagan, Senior Benefits Director National Institute of Transition Planning, Inc. at our November 2012 meeting.

Officers (Calendar Year 2017)





William (Bill) Thompson

Chapter7NARFE (at)

1st Vice President &
Legislative Chair

Ed Weiler


2nd Vice President &
Membership Chair


Secretary & Web Coordinator

Nancy Palmerino



Jim Hall


Immediate Past President

Mark McLachlan


Alzheimer’s Chair

Bonnie Franklin



Elsie Cunningham


Newsletter Editor &
Distribution Manager

Mary Knox


Program Chair

Norbert Erickson


Public Relations

Max Scruggs


Service Officer
& Parliamentarian

 Bill Thompson



Social Chair

Pat Meyers


Sunshine Chair



Contact your elected officials:

United States Senate

The Honorable Tim Kaine
B40C Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Ph: 202-224-4024
Fax: 202-228-6363

The Honorable Mark R. Warner
475 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Ph: 202-224-2023
Fax: 202-224-6295

United States House of Representatives (District 8)

The Honorable Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
431 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Ph: 202-225-4376
Fax: 202-225-0017




Chapter E-mail address

up arrow
Return to Top

Email to VFC chapters web master.